withthe beatles songs

With The Beatles

With The Beatles

Released: November 1963 – UK
#1 UK

Album Notes:
The Beatles second album was the first to include a song written by George Harrison. It became the second album (the soundtrack from South Pacific was first) ever to sell a million copies in the UK.

Album Cover Notes:
Black and white photo shot in a hotel corridor using natural light from a window.

With the Beatles is the second studio album by the English rock group the Beatles. It was released on 22 November 1963, on Parlophone, and was recorded four months after the band’s debut Please Please Me

Album Cover Notes:
The same photo that was used on the With The Beatles cover, shot in a hotel corridor using natural light from a window.

Track List

Side One
1. “It Won’t Be Long” (Lennon-McCartney) (Learn to Play Here)
Written as a single by Lennon, who later said “it didn’t quite make it”
2. “All I’ve Got to Do” (Lennon-McCartney) (Learn to Play Here)
Written by Lennon in 1961 specifically for the US market
3. “All My Loving” (Lennon-McCartney) (Learn to Play Here)
First song performed in their first appearance on Ed Sullivan Show in February 1964
4. “Don’t Bother Me” (George Harrison) (Learn to Play Here)
First song written by George Harrison, who later described it as “fairly crappy”
5. “Little Child” (Lennon-McCartney) (Learn to Play Here)
Lennon and McCartney shared lead vocals, though it was originally written for Ringo to sing
6. “Till There Was You” (Meredith Wilson) (Learn to Play Here)
One of the songs the band performed in their record label audition
7. “Please Mister Postman” (Georgia Dobbins-William Garrett-Freddie Gorman-Brian Holland-Robert Bateman)
Originally a hit for The Marvelettes in 1961 (Learn to Play Here)

Side Two
1. “Roll Over Beethoven” (Chuck Berry) (Learn to Play Here)
One of the first songs performed by the band in Liverpool clubs in the late 50s
2. “Hold Me Tight” (Lennon-McCartney) (Learn to Play Here)
Disliked by both Lennon and McCartney, who once said, “I can’t remember much about that one”
3. “You Really Got a Hold on Me” (Smokey Robinson) (Learn to Play Here)
Originally a hit single for The Miracles in 1962
4. “I Wanna Be Your Man” (Lennon-McCartney) (Learn to Play Here)
Lead vocals by Ringo Starr; originally recorded by the Rolling Stones
5. “Devil in Her Heart” (Richard P. Drapkin) (Learn to Play Here)
Originally recorded in 1961 by The Donays as “Devil in His Heart”
6. “Not a Second Time” (Lennon-McCartney) (Learn to Play Here)
Recorded without McCartney and Harrison
7. “Money (That’s What I Want)” (Janie Bradford-Berry Gordy) (Learn to Play Here)

Share Your Thoughts...